Student Philanthropy Committee

Mission: The Oakland University Student Philanthropy Committee seeks to improve the future of the University by raising awareness and appreciation among students about the importance of philanthropy.

Goal: The Student Philanthropy Committee will work with the Oakland University Annual Giving team to motivate and encourage OU students to become involved in the philanthropic process at the University. This goal will be accomplished with awareness and philanthropy events throughout the year.



Committee Chair: Halla Hilborn

Senior Class Gift Co-Chairs: Myles Harper*, Nathan Catey*

Marketing & Outreach: Nathan Catey*, Kamila Williams

Event Coordinator: Bethany Goss

We are now taking applications for all leadership positions and committee positions. Submit an application.

Active Members:

  • Sarah Klieman
  • Andrew Laux
  • Shelby Toft*
  • Sarah Weinberg

Committee Advisers:

*Founding member from spring 2014.

Get Involved:

Sign up through Grizzorgs or email us.

Philanthropy Fast Facts:

OU is a tax-exempt public university; contributions to Oakland University are tax deductible.

Tuition only covers approximately 81% of the cost to educate a full time student in a year. Private donors help fill the gap!

Every student at OU benefits from the generosity of donors. Donor support helps construct new buildings, upgrade classroom technology, support student clubs and groups, and much more.

Donors can choose from over hundreds of funds that support Oakland University!